Dec 07, 2023  
2015-2017 Undergraduate Catalog 
2015-2017 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

University Administration

Office of the President

President Dr. Glenda Baskin Glover
  B.S., Tennessee State University; MBA, Clark Atlanta University; J.D., Georgetown University Law Center; Ph.D, George Washington University
University Counsel Laurence Pendleton
Director of Athletics Teresa Lawrence-Phillips
  B.S., 1980; M.S., 1999, Tennessee State University
Director, EEO Tiffany Cox
Director of Internal Audit Norman Michael Batson
  B.S., 1986 Auburn University.

Academic Affairs

Vice President for Academic Affairs Mark Hardy
  B.S., 1980, Jackson State University; M.S., 1982, Jackson State University; Ph.D., 1986 University of Alabama
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Alisa Mosley
  B.S., 1993,, Florida A&M University; M.B.A., 1994, Florida A&M University; Ph.D., 1998, University of Nebraska
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Evelyn Nettles
  B.A., 1972, Tennessee State University: M. A, 1974, Tennessee State University; PhD, 1991,University of Tennessee- Knoxville
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Patricia A. Crook
  B.S., 1973, Tennessee State University; M.B.A., 1976, University of Tennessee; C.P.A.,1995,State of Tennessee; M.P.A., 1996, Tennessee State University; Ed.D.,1998, TSU.
Interim Dean. Libraries and Media Centers Murle Kenerson, Ph.D.
Dean of the College of Liberal Arts Gloria Johnson
  B.A., 1970 Tennessee State University; M.A., 1971, University of Illinois; Ph.D., 1990, University of Tennessee.
Associate Dean of the College of Liberal Arts Joel Dark, Ph.D., Interim.
Dean of the College of Business Millicent Lownes-Jackson
  B.A., 1972, Fisk University; M.B.A., 1975, Ph.D., 1981, Vanderbilt University
Associate Dean of the College of Business Retta Guy
  B.A.., 1982, University of Kentucky; M.P.A. 1995, Kentucky State University; Ed.D. 2004, University of Kentucky
Dean of the College of Education Kimberly King-Jupiter, Ph.D.
Dean of the College of Engineering S. Keith Hargrove
  BSME, 1985 Tennessee State University; MS, 1987 Missouri University of Science & Technology; PhD, 1993 University of Iowa
Associate Dean of the College of Engineering Mohan Malkani
  B.S., 1953, M.S., 1955, Baroda University, India; M.S., 1964, Mississippi State University; Ph.D., 1980, Vanderbilt University.
Interim Dean of the College of Health Sciences Stephanie Bailey, Ph.D.
Executive Director and Associate Dean of School of Nursing Kathy Martin
  B.S., 1976 University of Central Arkansas; M.S.N., 1977 University of Alabama, Birmingham; Ph.D., 1995 Vanderbilt University
Dean of the College of Agriculture, Human and Natural Sciences Chandra Reddy
  B.S, 1974; MS, 1977, Andhra Pradesh Agricultural University, India; Ph.D. 1982 University of Florida
Dean of College of Public Service and Urban Affairs Michael Harris
  B.A. 1982 Bar Ilan University, Israel; M.A., 1986, Tel-Aviv University; Ph.D., 1993, Indiana University
Interim Dean of Graduate School Alex Sekwat
Director of Aerospace Studies Lt. Lavern Curry
Director of Honors Program Coreen Jackson
Director of Effectiveness , Quality and Assessment Pamela Burch-Sims
  B.S., 1977, Hampton University; M.A., 1978, University of Tennessee; Ph.D., 1993, Vanderbilt University

Student Affairs

Associate Vice President Michael Freeman
  B.G.S., 1980 The University of Iowa; M.A., 1983, The University of Iowa; Ph.D., University of Maryland- College
Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs Cheryl Greene, Ph.D.
Dean of Students/Chief Judicial Officer Peggy Earnest
  B.S., 1973, Tennessee State University; M.S., 1975, Tennessee State University.
Director of TSU Police Department Richard Briggrance
Director Student Health Services Ivan Davis
  B.S., 1964, Tennessee State University; M.S., 1965, Tennessee State University; M.D., 1974, Meharry Medical College.
Director of the Career Development Center Karon Uzzell-Baggett
Director of Student Activities Jame’l Hodges, Ed.D.
Director of Disabled Services Patricia Scudder
  B.S., 1966, Murray State University, M.L.S., 1969, Indiana University

Business and Finance

Vice President for Business and Finance Cynthia B. Brooks
  B.S.,1979, Fisk University; M.B.A., 1982, Vanderbilt University, C.P.A., 1994 (active), State of Tennessee.
Associate Vice President and Director of Finance and Accounting Robert E. Hughes.
  B.B.A., 1987, Austin Peay State University; M.B.A., 1998, Tennessee State University; C.P.A., 1990 (inactive), State of Tennessee.
Assistant Vice President and Director of Facilities Management Ronnie G. Brooks, Sr.
  B.S., 1975, University of South Carolina; M.S., 1985, Illinois Institute of Technology; P.E., 1982 (active), State of Illinois; P.E., 1996 (active), State of Tennessee.
Assistant Vice President and Director of Budget/Travel Bradley W. White
  B.B.A., 1994, Tennessee State University; C.P.A., 2000 (inactive), State of Tennessee.
Associate Vice President and Director of Human Resources Linda C. Spears
  B.A., 1972, Southern Methodist University; M.S., 1976, Texas A & M University.

Research and Sponsored Programs

Associate Vice President Lesia Crumpton-young, Ph.D.
  B.S., 1966, Tennessee Technological University; M.S., 1968, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ph.D., 1970, University of Tennessee
Associate Director of Center for Health Research Janice Emerson, Ph.D.
Director of Research and Sponsored Programs Phyllis Banner

Presidents Emeriti

President Emeritus Melvin N. Johnson
  B.S., 1968, North Carolina A&T University; M.A., 1974, Ball State University; MBA, 1979, Indiana University; DBA, 1983, Indiana University
President Emeritus James A. Hefner
  B.S., 1961, North Carolina A&T; M.A., 1962, Atlanta University; Ph.D., 1971, University of Colorado
President Emeritus Frederick S. Humphries
  B.S., 1957, Florida A&M University; Ph.D., 1964, University of Pittsburgh

The Tennessee Board of Regents

The Honorable Bill Haslam Governor and Department Chair
John “Steve” Copeland, DMV 6th Congressional District, 2009-2012
Gregory Duckett Vice, Department Chair, 9th Congressional District, 2012-2018
John M. Farris At-Large, West Tennessee, 2008-2014
Darrell S. Freeman, Sr. 7th Congressional District, 2012-2016
Tom Griscom 3rd Congressional District, 2011-2017
The Honorable Kevin S. Huffman Commissioner of Education
Ashley N. Humphrey Student Regent, 2012-2013
The Honorable Julius Johnson Commissioner of Agriculture
Jonas Kisber 8th Congressional District, 2008-2014
Fran Marcum 4th Congressional District, 2010-2016
Paul W. Montgomery 1st Congressional District, 2007-2013
Richard Rhoda Executive Director, Tennessee Higher Education Commission
Howard Roddy At-Large, East Tennessee, 2010-2016
Emily J. Reynolds At-Large, Middle Tennessee, 2012-2018
Robert P. Thomas 5th Congressional District, 2009-2015
Danni B. Varlan 2nd Congressional District, 2013-2019
Deanna Wallace Faculty Agent, 2013-2019

Senior Staff of the Tennessee Board of Regents

John Morgan Chancellor
Tristan Denley Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Dale Sims Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance
Thomas Danford Chief Information Officer
David Gregory Vice Chancellor for Administration/Facilities Management
James King Vice Chancellor for Vocational-Technical Education
Mary Moody General Counsel and Board Secretary
Warren Nichols Vice Chancellor for Community Colleges
Wendy Thompson Vice Chancellor for Organizational Effectiveness & Strategic Initiatives
Monica Greppin-Watts Director of Communications
Jona Coppola Assistant to the Chancellor
Phyllis Anderson Executive Assistant to the Chancellor
Sonja Mason Executive Assistant to the Board Secretary