Apr 25, 2024  
2015-2017 Undergraduate Catalog 
2015-2017 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Mathematical Sciences

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Colleges, Schools and Programs

Sandra H. Scheick, Ph.D., Department Chair
305 Boswell Hall
(615) 963-5811

Faculty: D. Badamdorj, G. Bhatt, O. Bignall, G. Burks, K. Daniels, K. Ganesan, J. Jackson, P. Jara, J. Kelley, M. Mirani, M. Mutterspaugh, G. Nagarajan, L. Ouyang, W. Wayne, J.C. Pedjeu, R. Richardson, M. Reed, M. Sarkar, S. Sathananthan, S. Scheick, K. Semenya, M. Stanberry, G. Yang.

General Statement: The objectives of the Department are: (1) to provide programs of study for those who desire to pursue an undergraduate major in mathematics or physics, or a minor in physics, mathematics or astronomy; or who desire to pursue the interdisciplinary degree program with a concentration in one of these disciplines; (2) to provide courses designed to satisfy the mathematics and physics requirements for the several colleges and schools of the University; (3) to provide a limited number of courses in statistics; and (4) to provide services to the University and the wider community related to the academic mission of the Department. The Department offers curricula leading to B.S. degrees in Mathematics and Physics. The Department also offers an Interdisciplinary Degree with concentrations in either of these disciplines. In addition, students may earn secondary school licensure in Mathematics through the Department.

Accreditation: The teacher certification program in Mathematics is approved by the Tennessee Department of Education. In addition, the National Council on the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) has extended national accreditation to the entire teacher certification program of the University.





      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Colleges, Schools and Programs